WORLD BALLET SCHOOL DAY

7 JULY 2020 - 13.00 CET

1 Julý 2020

Althea-Marie Edwards-Pennant

This Tuesday,  join pre-professional ballet students from around the world for an inaugural livestream event for World Ballet School Day. Originally conceived by Viviana Durante, the goal is to connect the next generation of young professional dancers with young people from across the globe.

"Created for students by students" the event will give pre-professional students, especially now during lockdown and COVID-19, the platform to share the universal language of dance and the power that it has to unite.

Students from participating schools will take part in round table discussions, giving you an insight into the world of pre-professional ballet training and introduce behind the scenes and performance footage filmed before and during lockdown. 

The day will also feature the world premier of a piece exploring the timely theme of physical restriction. The project led by the Royal Ballet School saw six international schools collobrate and work with choreographer Didy Veldman. The dancers worked in six groups to create and rehearse with Didy over Zoom., each group then filmed their indivdual performance which  Didy and the BalletBoyz edited and used to create the film of the finished piece.

© Vaiva 

Twelve schools and institutions from three continents will be particpating this year:

The Australian Ballet School

Boston Ballet School

Canada's National Ballet School

Dutch National Ballet Academy

English National Ballet School

New Zealand School of Dance

Palucca University of Dance Dresden

Paris Opera Ballet School

Prix de Lausanne

Royal Ballet School

San Francisco Ballet School

World Ballet School Day will be streamed on www.worldballetschoolday.com on Tuesday 7 July 2020 at:

04.00 PT

07:00 ET

11.00GMT

12.00 BST

13.00 CET

20.00 Japan

21.00 Australia

23.00 New Zealand

#INSPIRED

 

14 year old Michele, one of the Senior Associates at The International Ballet School, recently choreographed a piece called "Its ok".

 

To have your work featured on you website and instagram, please send all submissions to admin@digitalb.online

©2020 by Digital B. All Rights Reserved. Proudly created by AMEP Web Design

  • Instagram
  • TikTok
  • YouTube
  • Spotify